Camel hump hijab “a stern warning”

Unfortunately it has become a trend to copy the Khaleeji hijab style, with people layering their scarves and using hair clips to create big, camel hump hijab styles. This is not only a deception but also a form of Tabarruj which is not only contradictory to the rules of hijab but also a destructive sin in the Sight of Allah swt.

This post is not meant as a judgement on any sister or her intentions for wearing the hijab but insha’Allah is a reminder as many of us are not aware of the gravity of such fashions and the affect it could have on our akhira. Allah yerbarikfeekom akhawaat ♥

 

The Prophet (صلى الله عليه وسلم) stated in a sahih hadith from Muslim:

“There are two types of the people of Hell whom I have not seen: men in whose hands are whips like the tails of cattle, with which they beat the people, and women who are clothed yet naked, maa’ilaat mumeelaat, with their heads like the humps of camels, tilted to one side. They will not enter Paradise nor even smell its fragrance.”

This is a stern warning to beware of the things referred to. 

With regard to the phrase, “their heads are like the heads of camels, tilted to one side,” some of the scholars said that this means they make their heads look big because of the hairstyles they adopt and so on, so that it looks like the hump of a bakht camel. The bakht is a type of camel that has two humps between which there is a dip, so that one hump leans one way and the other leans the other way. When these woman make their heads look big in this way, they look like these humps. 

With regard to the phrase, “They will not enter Paradise nor even smell its fragrance,” this is a stern warning; it does not necessarily mean that they are kaafirs or that they will abide in Hell forever, like other sinners who die as Muslims; rather what is meant is that they and other sinners are threatened with Hell for their sins, but they are subject to the will of Allaah. If He wills He will forgive them and if He will He will punish them. This is like the verse in which Allaah says (interpretation of the meaning): 

“Verily, Allaah forgives not that partners should be set up with Him (in worship), but He forgives except that (anything else) to whom He wills”
[al-Nisa’ 4:48]  

 

Shaykh al-Islam Ibn Taymiyah was asked – as it says in Majmoo’ al-Fataawa (11/646) – about women who pile their hair on top of their heads, and they will not see Paradise or smell its fragrance. But it is narrated in the hadeeth from the Messenger of Allaah (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him): “Whoever says La ilaaha ill-Allaah will enter Paradise.” 

He replied:

It is proven in Saheeh Muslim and elsewhere from Abu Hurayrah that the Prophet (صلى الله عليه وسلم) said: “There are two types of the people of Hell whom I have not seen: men with whips like the tails of cattle with which they strike the people, and women who are clothed but naked, walking with an enticing gait, with something like the humps of camels on their heads. They will not enter Paradise nor even smell its fragrance, and its fragrance can be smelled from such and such a distance.”

Whoever claims that this hadeeth is not saheeh and that what it mentions of the severe punishment is not true is ignorant and has gone astray from the path of sharee’ah, and he deserves a punishment that will deter him and other ignorant people like him who object to the saheeh ahaadeeth that are soundly narrated from the Messenger of Allaah (صلى الله عليه وسلم). 

There are many saheeh ahaadeeth about this warning. For example: 

“Whoever kills a mu’aahid unlawfully will not smell the fragrance of Paradise, although its fragrance may be detected from a distance of forty years.” 

“No one will enter Paradise in whose heart is a mustard seed’s worth of arrogance.” 

“There are three to whom Allaah will not speak on the Day of Resurrection nor will He praise them, and their will be a painful torment: an old man who commits zina, a king who tells lies and a poor man who is arrogant.” 

There are verses in the Qur’aan which speak of this warning, such as the verse in which Allaah says (interpretation of the meaning):  

“And whosoever disobeys Allaah and His Messenger ( صلى الله عليه وسلم), and transgresses His limits, He will cast him into the Fire, to abide therein; and he shall have a disgraceful torment”
[al-Nisa’ 4:14] 

This is something on which the Muslims are agreed, that the warning in the Qur’aan and Sunnah to those who commit major sins is true, but Allaah has stated in the Qur’aan and the Sunnah of His Messenger (صلى الله عليه وسلم) that the warning mentioned in the Qur’aan and Sunnah does not apply to the one who repents, as He says (interpretation of the meaning): “Say: O ‘Ibaadi (My slaves) who have transgressed against themselves (by committing evil deeds and sins)! Despair not of the Mercy of Allaah, verily, Allaah forgives all sins. Truly, He is Oft‑Forgiving, Most Merciful”
[al-Zumar 39:53]

Source | Will Allaah punish women who make a wanton display of their beauty (tabarruj)?

50 Comments

Filed under Ibada, Sunnah, Tafsir

50 responses to “Camel hump hijab “a stern warning”

  1. Jazakullakhair, very comprehensive piece.

  2. Pingback: Video Camel Hump Hijabs (Only Women Watch!)

  3. MaSalaam

    Can you just clarify what style you meant in this topic sis – the one where you wear a ‘band’ then hijab on top….thats not allowed?

  4. hafizah

    Asalamu alaikom, just to clarify. this style is only haram if the hair is put into this style on purpose right! because i have extremely thicj curly hair and it naturally does this style when i put my hijab on. by the way i do not wear it now but i have the intention to put it on for ramadan to keep for life insha’allah. please clarify this for sisters with thick, long and curly hair. jazaka’allah khair.

    • Walaikom asalaam wa rahmatullah,

      As you rightly said intention is important in this, Allah swt knows best. There are different things that you can do to minimize the size of your bun even if you have thick, curly, long hair. For example by making the bun lower at the nape of your neck. Also, I believe that it was the practice of the sahabiyyat to wear their hair in a plait or two plaits under their hijab which would obviously mean the hair does not show and Allah knows best check with someone knowledgable insha’Allah.

      Masha’Allah at you intentions to wear hijab! A beautiful hadith to inspire you insha’Allah:

      Abu Hurayra reported that the Messenger of Allah (صلى الله عليه وسلم) said, “Allah Almighty says, ‘I have declared war against anyone who shows enmity towards a friend of Mine. My slave does not draw near to Me with anything I love more than what I made obligatory for him. Then My slave continues to draw near to Me with superogatory actions until I love him. When I love him, I become his hearing with which he hears, his sight by which he sees, his hand with which he strikes and his foot with which he walks. If he asks of Me, I give to him. If he seeks refuge with Me, I give him refuge.'” [al-Bukhari]

      May Allah swt reward you and make you from amongst His servants who He loves ameen! If you are on facebook this is a good page to subscribe to: http://www.facebook.com/HijabIsWorship

      May Allah swt keep you steadfast, I ask Allah that He makes you from amongst those saved from the fire this Ramadan ameeen ♥ JazakiAllahu kulli khayr

  5. Pingback: Camel hump “hijab” – a stern warning « Muslim Leicester Blog

  6. Pingback: stuffing your hijab is so 2007 « wood turtle

  7. Shahida

    Salamz I was actually searching alot for this topic as I myself wanted to wear it in this style, but I just read this from Fbook http://www.facebook.com/l.php?u=http://islamanswers.co.uk/2011/09/camel-hump-style-hijaab/&h=6AQD75nXyAQDo1HFhjG0VoQ0ZIZF-Hbe1ylhLE5Ubozkrtg

  8. Asma yashrif

    Assalamu Alaikum, i did’nt know that it is haram to wear Hijab in camel hump style, but what if i have real long hair and i have to pile them up resulting (unintentionally) a shape like a hump, in that case will it be considered as haram? I would be very much happy if my question is answered in detail so that i can spread this important Hadith to my surroundings. Jazak Allah Khair….

    • Umm Abdullah

      Walaykum Asalaam I know many sisters with hair as long as down to their knees; none of them have the need to pile their hair up on top of their head-it would actually be very uncomfortable. Instead they wear their hair like the sister has described-in plaits or a low bun. At any rate; however a sister styles her natural hair it will never look as exaggerated as the deliberate ‘big head’ styling that many sisters are engaging in nowadays-particularly in the UK. Its getting pretty depressing now as you go to events organised by those who try to be upon Qur’an and sunnah and slowly but surely all the younger generation of sisters are adopting this style even young sisters who a couple of years ago were wearing plain abayas with half-jilbabs or even overhead abayas and niqab,and often their parents dismiss it as ‘oh its just fashion’ and allow them to go out like that, its just so sad.

      • Umm Abdullah

        By the way when I first saw the above picture of the two ladies with the mini-fans at the top of the article a couple of years back on another sister’s fb page; it looked absolutely like it must be some kind of joke because their heads looked so massive and ridiculous, I couldn’t believe any sister would really go out like that. Now looking at that picture; the style they have looks completely tame and sad to say, ‘normal’ compared to how sisters are wearing it these days, here in London where I live at least.

  9. SANNA

    jazak Allah sister you’ve helped me alot, my friend was gunnaby those big stukk to make your hair like camel hump , anyways you take care and may Allah bless you :)

  10. Fatimah

    As Salaamu Alaikum, This is very informative to me, surely I will share it with my sisters as well. Shuqrun. As Salaamu Alaikum.
    Fatimah:)

  11. Zainab

    Aslam wa alikum sister I wore this style to the mosque once and a woman told me that my hijab was nice but it was haram but she didnt know why. When wear a sarf I wear my bun between the middle and top of my head even if its a regular wrap or a kaleegi. But I dont understand if ur saying dont wear a high bun or dont layer your scarf.or dont wear your bun on 1side? I wear my bun in center back of my head Is that aloud ? Plz reply back and send me some pics of what ur talking about because im still a little confused

  12. Assalamualikum! :)
    Jazak Allah u khairan! :) It was a great help. Specially with the references of images and qura’n o hadith. Now allhamdulilah have Sharah-e sadar. :)

  13. touheedah

    Aslm alaik. Jazaakallahu khairaa. This camels hump has hit South Africa, Cape Town by storm. Unfortunately this fashion was brought on by our young Aalimaat. Our ladies are being taught by these young girls the notion that “you can stil dress up and be fashionable. Even the supposed loose abaayas have been redesigned to fit the body like a glove. May Allah guide us all.

  14. Mahima

    Jazaakallahu khairaan i just researched about this issue and i was very concerned as i too am wearing my hijab like this camel hump style,but i decided that from today i will be following the right way and not following other people whom are wearing the hijab for style etc.i am very gratefull for this page and i think that we need to raise awareness of this issue.INSHALLAH !

  15. Tanyelli

    I had gone through cancer so I had almost no hair but I still wore hijab. I had been wearing for a very long time so I couldn’t just take it off. some other women my age who I went to the masjid with would make fun of me. They wore there buns really high so that it would look like they had even more hair than they had and taunt me for having pretty much a flat scarf. But this help me to realize that you wear hijab for Allah (SWT) alone and those women who do things like that will only receive Allah’s wrath. My Allah guide us all.

    • Umm Abdullah

      La ba tahooran sister just goes to show some are wearing hijab purely as a fashion statement these days. May Allaah cure you and reward you for sticking to the correct Islaamic dress regardless.

  16. Md. Imran Uddin Paplu

    hijab 4 every woman right.

  17. could you explain more indepth like are you alud to use a scarf underneath your hijab please reply

    • I’m not sure I understand what you mean by use a scarf underneath? If you are using anything under you hijab to make it bigger or to add ‘volume’ then this is not allowed. Your hijab should not be an adornment or a source of beautification inshaallah.

      • zainab nadeem

        aslm-o-alikm i want to ask that if ur making a pony tail a bit high or low even that creates a n outer growth …. is that to for bidden … if yes then what should we do to gather our hairs beneath the hejab.. plz help me clear this soon

      • Walaikom asalaam warahmatullah, sorry for the late reply. I am not a sheikha or person of knowledge, but what I would say if try your best to keep your hair as flat as possible under your hijab. You could try wearing it in 2 braids which will hide it and Allah knows best.

    • You can wear a scarf underneath. I wear thin scarf most of the time i wear a tube stretchy under cap.
      I seen sisters wear a scarf underneath and make a big spanish bun or turban and that is creating the camel hump effect again. So as long as the underscarf is flat and not bunched up for “volume” or camel hump effect its fine.

  18. Layla

    is it haram, even though the bun isnt huge? is you just make a little one.
    – and the hadeeth says, the women in hell are wearing their hijab w´looking like camel humps, and wearing tight clothes. what is you make a little hump, but you’re clothing isnt haram. will you still go to hell?

    • I can’t answer detailed questions like this, sorry, inshaallah you can contact someone of knowledge who can give you proper replies to your queries. If you need me too I can direct you to some people who can answer you let me know

  19. Aisha Yunusa

    May Allah put us through and forgive us for our known and unknown sins. Amin.

  20. fah

    Salaam to all the sisters out there,

    I myself wear a plain hijab and have found that this camel hump is getting ridiculous around the asian community, me and my sisters are looking for a way to bring out the message but yougsters these days do not care for what another person muslim or not says to them if it is not in the way that they wish. Sister you have done well posting this and may our almighty lord bless you and may He help the muslim ummah come together amnd find a way to prevent this fashion, I have non muslim friends who even think this fashion is ridiculous and it looks awful, what name are the muslim sisters of today giving us, it is truly shameful and we need to stop it, even though it seems like it is too late.

  21. Asalamu alaikom warahmatullahi wa barakatu

    Jazakomallahu khayran for all of your comments.

    Unfortunately I have been recieving alot of questions regarding this post that I am not qualified to answer. I will try to find the answers from someone more knowledgable if I can but I advise that you seek out someone of knowledge to direct your queries too. If you do not know of anyone in real life whom you can ask many shayookh & students of knowledge have facebook pages or websites where you can ask more detailed questions inshaallah.

    barakallahu feekom

  22. penelopew5

    Salaam Ladies,
    I am in the process of learning all that I can in becoming a proper muslim women, and I am thankful I came a cross this, so I can be informed with the wrong way in wearing a hijab is and not do it. I am wanting to convert, so I have been doing lots of reading and researching. My question is. Can I layer my hijab if I chose to wear 2 scarves or is 1 only allowed. I have also watched many youtube videos in how to wear one. In the Quran is states that it should cover the breast area, but most videos it doesn’t seem to do that, so are there larger sizes? Also what is the allowed when going to the mosque, should I wear the abaya over my clothes when entering the mosque?

    • Yes the hijab should cover the chest area and should be long and loose.

      When going to the mosque it is best to wear an abaya if you have one. If not then long loose fitting clothes if you can.

      I can’t answer regarding the 2 scarves as I am in no position to give any kind of Islamic verdict on it, if you can go to the mosque maybe you could arrange a meeting with an imaam there and ask him these questions. I am also a convert and met with an imaam who answered some questions for me before I converted so don’t be shy to ask inshaallah (God Willing).

      May Allah make it easy for you and guide you towards what is best for you. ameen

    • Asalam waliykum sis.

      Mabrook and inshallah you have entered into Islam.
      Take your time, do not feel preassured to rush into doign everything, and doing everything right straight away.
      Its best to wear a long flowly garment to the mosque. A one piece is brilliant. You can find these online.
      Also if you want to cover the chest… you can purchase extra wide hijabs anywhere, H&M sell some. Also Khimars, or 2 piece hijabs can give more coverage. You can also get extra large square hijabs. Great for chest coverage. :D
      Inshallah this hopes. But dont feel like you need to get things right straight away. Experiment and take your time.

      Wasalam

  23. Antora Morshed

    I give thanks to Allah swt an thanks the people for the info.. :) assalamuwalaikum…

  24. Y

    Are you allowed any camel hump? Like a small one thatisn’t doubled or sways to the side(not literally but u know what I mean). Thanks

    • I think when it comes to this issue, we have to be sincere with ourselves. We know deep down our intentions for wearing the hijab every morning. We know when we are fixing it a certain way to make it more attractive, to look prettier, to show off etc… So when you are getting ready to leave your house and you’re looking in the mirror, fixing your hijab. Take a moment to reflect on your intentions. In light of knowing more about the prohibition of the camel hump inshaallah this advice will help you stay away from it and any other kinds of tabarrujj (improper beautification)

  25. Sayeeda A.

    can I copy the article and post it on different pages to get more sisters to relize?

  26. Alif Lam Mim

    I am also sure that I have read somewhere that one of the signs that the time of Dajjal is approaching, is that “ladies hijaabs would resemble camel humps” , among other signs.

  27. Asalam waliykum

    ************* And i platt my hair and its doesnt show as much. You dont have to put it in a bun you can platt it and if long like mine just fold over and scure are the top with elastic hair band. And it lies as flat as possibe to the head. Although still a small bump its not a bun, exaggerated.

    • Asalamu alaikom sis, jazakallahu khayran for all your help with the comments on this post! I hope you don’t mind but I edited your comment just to be on the safe side with regards to descriptions. Jazakallahu khayran again and please keep helping me out! LOL barakallahu feeki

  28. Pingback: Hijab is … | What is this ?

  29. Anonymous

    Asalamualaykum sisters

    I must say that I have adorned the hump style for sometime now.. I wore it for no other reason than because I liked it!! My mother has been nagging and begging me to remove it however i just could not understand the true reason behind it…I guess there was a reason why Allah sent me to google this particular hijab this evening! I have read all the comments as well as the hadith and Insha Allah I will try my best to stop adorning this particular hijab… May Allah help us all and save us all from the punishment of Jahannam.. Aameen

  30. Aminah

    Why put there head are like …. When clearly it says their heads like… Do not misunderstand islam or misguide people we don’t fully know what it means. It. Could be a punishment if we are clothed yet naked we would be in the hell fire with our heads like camel humps.

Leave a Reply

