“I would chose to be dust”

 

 Ibrahim bin Al-Harith narrated, “There was once a man who was known for weeping from fear of Allah swt. One day he was asked about his bouts of weeping and he said;

“I cry when I remember the many ways in which I have wronged my own self and when I remember how I have not been modest before He who has the ability to punish me. He swt has given me respite until the Day of Eternal Punishment, The Day of Eternal Misery. By Allah! were I to be asked which is more desirable to you for accountability to be taken of you and for you to then be ordered to be taken to Paradise or for you to be dust, I would chose to be dust.”

taken from Stories of Repentance

Leave a comment

Filed under Quotes

Leave a Reply

