Hajj Poem: The Farewell Tawaf (part six)


[The Farewell Tawaf]

When they’ve achieved at Mina all their gains,

Once more they fill the valleys and plains:

To the Ka’bah, the Sacred House, by the end of the day,

To circle it seven times, and then to Pray.

When departure nears and they are certain

That the bond of proximity is about to loosen,

There’s only a last stand for a final farewell:

Now for Allah are the eyes that swell,

And for Allah are the heavy hearts that turn

Into cauldrons of desire where fire does burn;

And the passionate sighs whose heat so vigorous

Nearly melts the Lover, ecstatic, rapturous!

Now you see those bewildered, perplexed in the throng,

Whilst others chant their sorrowful song:

“I depart, but there remains for You my yearning,

My fire of grief is raging and burning;

I bid farewell, but longing pulls my reins –

My heart is encamped in Your eternal plains!”

No blame today for saying what you feel:

No blame for expressing what you used to conceal!

Ibn Qayyim al Jawziyyah

O Allah grant us the chance to make Hajj

Leave a comment

Filed under Dhul Hijjah, Hajj, Ibada, Ibn al-Qayyim al-Jawziyyah, Poetry

Leave a comment